Eca Bakcground (1)
European Handball Court of Arbitration A court of arbitration in the world of sport

ECA Council and ECA Office

The ECA Council, made up of three members - one President and two Vice-Presidents - and an Office, has been created along with the ECA in order to safeguard its independence and the rights of the parties. One of the two Vice-Presidents is a representative of the stakeholder’s groups (the Professional Handball Board and the Women's Handball Board).

The ECA Council, besides having a role of representation of the ECA towards the EHF Congress, is mainly responsible for the administration of the European Handball Court of Arbitration, including in particular the following functions:

  • Work structuring;
  • Amendment of the ECA Procedural Rules;
  • Confirmation of the nominated arbitrators after review of the legal criteria;
  • Removal of arbitrators from the List;
  • Appointment of substitute arbitrators;
  • Appointment of arbitrators for interim measures of protection.


The ECA Council is currently managed by the following members:

  • Mr. Michele Colucci, Belgium - President
  • Ms. Marta Utor, Spain - Vice-President
  • Mr. Rémy Lévy, France - Vice-President


ECA Office

Hoffingergasse 18

1120 Vienna, Austria

Tel: +43 (1) 80 151-114

Fax: +43 (1) 80 151-449